A lot of things are starting to pile up on me recently. College is sneaking up on me fast and I really need to get into applying for schools and scholarships and such. Christmas is sneaking up even faster, and I have no idea what to get anyone or even what I'd like to have for myself. I just finished filling out about half of UK's application online. I got to the essay parts and decided to call it quits for now. I'm looking forward to the college life so much that I think I might have over glorified it, and it won't be as awesome as I'm expecting it to. I'm also excited about knowing a few people who are going to be attending UK as well, and maybe getting to know them a little better.
This weekend, I went to Iceland; not the country - the ice skating rink. I went last weekend too, but nothing exciting happened that time. Yes, yesterday I fell on my freakin' face. This would have marked my fourth time ice skating without getting seriously injured, but it didn't work out that way. I was just kind of skating along, weaving my way in and out of the 6 year olds and other teenagers who think it's cool to come and stand in the middle of the rink and talk, when all of the sudden these guys decide their going to race. They aren't even kids, they looked like they were in their late twenties. Anyways, they come flying by me, and I'm not paying attention, and I lose my balance, turn around and fall. I stick my hands out to catch me, and they slide out from under me. My head whiplashes into the ice (which I learned is quite solid) and my lip busts and starts bleeding. Don't get me wrong, it was funny. Any time someone falls, it's funny. But it did have a side effect of pain. Today, my cheek is still a little swelled, and its cut up. Most of the swelling in my lip has calmed down, but it still looks kinda weird. I look like I got in some sort of epic battle with like, eight black guys. Being the badass that I am, of course I won, but one of them got in a lucky punch or two.
I suppose now, my short-lived, 'I want to be a pilot' stage is over. I'm still interested in flying of course, because it is simply amazing, but I'm beginning to think realistically I guess. My goal right now is to attend UK for a year or two, and then possibly transfer out to Western to pursue Photojournalism. I think I'm more interested in that as a major than just journalism itself. I think my whole thing with journalism is that, it's one of the best ways to get your voice out there. As long as you get into a field of journalism that connects with your interests at heart, you're going to have fun writing about what ever it is that you're covering. I've never had any interest in politics, I think I've mentioned this many times before - but after watching that video 'Orwell Rolls Over in his Grave' I've kind of changed my mind about that. I'm interested in politics, but more specifically, the corruption of the media via politics, and government. I'm interested in getting into a career field full of lies and deceit; where what you're told to report is nothing near the truth but it doesn't matter because the government decides what is truth and what isn't. It's a very 1984 world inside of the media. In the bluntest way possible... I want to get in there and fuck it up. I don't know why I keep thinking about playing the Hero. I'm not that guy. I've never seen myself as being that guy that starts a revolution, or the guy that stands up for what he believes in and takes a beating for it. I don't think I'm much of a leader or anything like that, but something inside of me wants to do something about this world we live in. Something inside of me wants the truth above all things, and wants to deliver it to the world, pure, and unadulterated. I can't explain it. But I feel it.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment